Chide

Meaning: Scold or rebuke.

Synonyms: Scold, chastise, upbraid, berate, reprimand, reprove, rebuke, admonish, censure, lambaste, lecture, give someone a piece of one’s mind, take to task, rake/haul over the coals.

In Hindi: झिड़कना, डाँटना, बुरा-भला कहना.

Use: I don’t want my teacher to chide me for being late again, I’ll be leaving 15 minutes earlier for my school from tomorrow.

Tina’s mother chided her for not replying her letters while she was busy enjoying her hostel life.

 

Leave a Reply

